top of page

Snow Can be Light - Adianna Barrett



As I sit here on top of this hill, I feel calm. Not the type of calm I felt before, just utter silence to the person I was before. It’s the middle of the day, 12 PM, as I sit here thinking about life, writing a story to you.


The lightness in the snow reflects all the pureness in the earth. The world. The silence is so close but yet so far from the other reality that is coming near us now. As I sit here writing to you, the person I have become realizes the path has become hard. All the pureness in the white snow I see right in front of my eyes, is everything I want to be. Everything as humans we strive to be is ultimately right in front of you. But you can’t reach it, and everyone strives to, until you see the long lasting effects. You see others, and you see yourself. There’s always going to be competition, there’s always going to be silence, and there’s always going to be a path where you struggle. But you can change that. You can be that snow, that pureness, that you want for yourself by your actions. All you have to do is see the light that everyone is created with, that you are born with, to strive for that greatness. Everyone has those goals, those things you want for yourself to become a better person. You can achieve it, all you have to do is believe. For me, sitting on top of this hill reminds me to believe. It reminds me that even if you are alone, you can always count on yourself to do what’s best for you. You are the only one that can help yourself with what you are struggling with.You can take that risk, take the golden ticket, and do what makes you happy. If you tell yourself that you’re going to be stuck, or you’ll never make it there, you’re only doing a disservice to yourself.


That golden ticket (yes, the one out of The Polar Express) is a pure reminder that seeing is believing. The calm feeling I’m experiencing now is something you can have too. The feeling of sadness, and the feeling of regret, is something you have to take in. Each emotion, each event that you go through, is what makes you stronger. Believe in yourself. Do what you need to do to cope. Achieve those goals. You only live once, and what you can do for yourself is make yourself happy in the midst of it.

bottom of page